About Maplewood, New Jersey

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

town_hallMaplewood is a Township in Essex County, NJ. As of the 2020 United States Census, the township's population was 25,684.

Maplewood is governed under the Township form of government with a five-member Township Committee. The Township Committee is elected directly by the voters in partisan elections to serve three-year terms of office on a staggered basis, with one or two seats coming up for election each year.

At an annual reorganization meeting, the Township Committee selects one of its members to serve as Mayor for a one year term, and another to serve as Deputy Mayor. The Mayor has the responsibility of Chair for the Township Committee meetings with voice and vote. The Mayor is considered the head of the municipal government.

The Township Committee is the legislative body of the municipality. It is under these powers that the Township Committee has the responsibility for passing laws that affect the Township. The Township Committee is also an executive body. Under this form of government, the elected Township Committee sets policy and overall direction for the Township.

The Township staff, under the direction of the Township Administrator, Patrick Wherry, carries out Committee policy and provides day to day services. The Township Administrator serves as the chief administrative officer and is accountable to the Township Committee.

As of 2024, members of the Maplewood Township Committee are:

  • Mayor Nancy Adams
  • Deputy Mayor Jamaine Cripe
  • Dean Dafis
  • Deborah Engel
  • Victor De Luca